





GECOM Approves Nineteen (19) Symbols Submitted by Political Parties to Contest in General and Regional Elections

1st July, 2025 GEORGETOWN – The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has approved nineteen (19) of the twenty-two (22) symbols submitted by political parties to contest in the upcoming General and Regional Elections. However, final approval of the remaining three (3) symbols would be subject to minor modifications, the nature of which is in the process of being communicated to them.

Importantly, GECOM takes this opportunity to clarify that although twenty-four (24) symbols were initially submitted to the Commission, two of those political parties have since joined the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU); resulting in the symbols being included within the partnership.

In view of the foregoing, GECOM reaffirms its commitment to continuous engagement with all political parties as they prepare their Lists of Candidates for submission on Nomination Day which would be held on the 14th July, 2025.

A list of the Political Parties and their respective approval status is attached for reference.









List of Political Parties and Approval of Symbol Status

Ser	Name of Party	Acronym	Representative/Leader	Approval Status
1	Unity Movement	UM	Aaron Blackman	Approved
2	Assembly for Liberty and Prosperity	ALP	Jan Fortune	Approved
3	WE INVEST IN NATIONHOOD	WIN	Azruddin Mohamed	Approved
4	Guyana United Party	GUP	Nicholas Ariston Chesney	TBD
5	People's Republic Front	PRF	Ramchrishna Lall	TBD
6	GAMERICA — Guyanese for Accountability, Meritocracy, Equality, Reform, Inclusion, and Collaboration with America	GAMERICA	Vishnu Bisram	Approved
7	A Guyana National Service Party	AGNSP	Mr. Oral Semple	Approved
8	Unity One	UI	Rubina Onique Persaud	Approved
9	Democratic Peoples Party	DPP	Jacob Rambarran and Anthony Vieira	Approved
10	The Republic Party Of Guyana	RPG	Joel B Hamilton	Approved
11	Unified People's Party	UPP	Orlanzo Raghunandan	Approved
12	Alliance For Change	AFC	Nigel Hughes	Approved
13	Citizen United	CU	Ron Ramiali	Approved
14	A Partnership for National Unity	APNU	Aubrey Compton Norton	Approved
15	All America Alliance for Guyana	AAA4G	Omar Shariff	Approved
16	FORWARD GUYANA MOVEMENT	FGM	Amanza Walton Desir	TBD
17	A New United Guyana	ANUG	Dr. Mark France	Approved
18	People's Progressive Party/Civic	PPP/C	Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo	Approved
19	Unity Guyana Democratic Party	UGDP	Richard Beveny	Approved
20	United Workers Party	UWP	Sherwyn Delano Downer	Approved
21	Horizon and Star	HAS	Dr.Hubert Maloney	Approved
22	Destiny to Oneness	DTO	Yanchandra Rambarran	Approved

